Ignition interlock devices are commonly given to those individuals who have been convicted of a DUI in many states across the country. This requires the individual to blow into a breathalyzer machine in order to start the car.
A new law signed by California Governor, Jerry Brown, would require first-time offenders for DUI to face driving restrictions for a minimum period of a year unless they agree to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
When the law kicks in in 2019, first-time offenders will be restricted primarily to driving to work, back and forth, if they do not agree to have an ignition interlock device monitoring their breath for alcohol content over a period of 6 months. These devices can cost up to $150 to install and $80 a month to monitor.
Low-income offenders may be able to receive a discounted rate but second and further offenders may be required to have longer periods of ignition lock usage. If you have recently been involved in an accident where the other driver was driving under the influence, you have the right to file a personal injury claim. The criminal case against an individual facing DUI charges is separate from your personal injury claim. Reach out to an experienced attorney to learn more.
SENIOR PERSONAL INJURY ATTORNEY & FIRM FOUNDER
Michael Pines is a former insurance company attorney who graduated from the University of California Hastings College of the Law in 1987. While he was an insurance attorney, he learned from behind the scenes how insurance companies work and how they decide how much to pay injured people. Now that he works against insurance companies, Michael’s inside knowledge has resulted in significant benefits to his clients injured in car accidents. Learn more about Michael Pines