A new California law plans to generate funds to prevent drunk-driving DUI accidents from happening as well as educate citizens on the dangers of alcohol.
The new accident prevention law will add more fees to the beer, wine and liquor industries and raise prices for distributors. Those distributors can then pass that cost to consumers.
Imagine how many drunk-driving DUI car accidents can be prevented if a higher tax can prevent a person from having the one beer that is the one too much or prevent people from engaging in binge drinking — becoming intoxicated by heavy consumption of alcohol over a short period of time. The new fee breaks down to being about 10 cents extra per 12-ounce serving of beer, 1.5 ounces of liquor or 5 ounces of wine.
California Assembly Bill 1019 – known as the Alcohol Related Services Act – would also generate $1.4 billion in revenue to fund alcohol-related medical services, medical treatment and recovery services and education to prevent alcohol abuse.
“There is no better way to hold the industry accountable than a mitigation fee to fund the state’s critical programs of treatment, prevention and recovery,” said the executive director of the Marin Institute.
Our car accident attorneys see this new tax as aggressive but necessary. Not only will the new tax generate funds for care and education for alcohol-related programs, but in this economy, maybe this tax prevent the drink that is “one too many.” Let’s all cheer for anything that keeps drunk-drivers off the road.
Call us now at 1-858-551-2090 or click here for a free consultation with an experienced personal injury attorney and find out how we can help you. We speak English and Spanish, and we look forward to providing advice for your case. No fee if no recovery.