If you buy a car, one amenity that could come with the car is a warranty, and our auto accident lawyers asking for one included in your vehicle purchase.  A warranty is a document that makes a seller responsible for repairs if the car has any problems over a specified period of time.

When you buy a car, here are five types of warranties offered:

1.  Expanded Warranty

When a person buys a car with an expanded warranty, the dealer provides a warranty that completely covers the repair or maintenance of the car for the duration of the warranty, subject to exclusions.

2.  Vehicle is Sold “As Is”

When a car is sold “as is”, the buyer becomes responsible for all repairs after the sale has been made.

3.  Implied Warranties

Some laws hold dealers responsible if cars they sell do not meet reasonable safety and quality standards.  There are implied warranties – unspoken, unwritten promises from the seller to the buyer.

4.  Warranty of Merchantability

The seller promises the product for sale will do what it is supposed to do.  Accordingly, this applies to the basic functions of a car but does not cover everything that could go wrong.  This should apply is the buyer can prove that something was wrong with the car at the time of the sale, but there are exceptions.

5.  Warranty of Fitness for a Particular Purpose

This warranty applies when you buy a vehicle based on the dealer’s advice that it is suitable for a specific use.

Call our San Diego law firm now at 1-858-551-2090 for a FREE consultation with an experienced auto accident lawyer or click here to submit your case for a FREE online review.  We have a large bilingual staff that can assist you in either English or Spanish.