In these hard economic times, you, like many California residents, are wondering how to save money on your car insurance. Our car accident attorneys in San Diego are often asked about what the minimum amount of car accident insurance is according to state law.
After all, you still want to make sure you can cover the costs of your potential medical bills while saving a little green in your pocket. With that in mind, you should never be thrifty when it comes to car accident insurance — if you are personally injured and under-insured, what then?
Car accident insurance in California requires you to have a minimum of $15K-$30K in coverage.
Our firm’s legal resources state that California requires a minimum of $15,000/$30,000 for bodily injury liability insurance for all drivers. This means your car accident insurance policy will provide $15,000 per person and $30,000 per car accident if there is more than one person who is personally injured in the car accident.
The purpose of liability insurance is to compensate injured parties in a car accident for their bodily injury (including past, present and future medical expenses). When a person is at fault for a car accident, and the other party is injured, the responsible person’s bodily injury insurance should pay for each of these damages.
Bodily injury policy limits of $15,000/30,000 only apply to the injured parties in a car accident who are deemed not at fault. Also, this is not a way for you to recover from your own insurance policy. The limits are to protect your personal assets should you be found responsible for a car accident.
If you are injured in a car accident, and it was not your fault, the responsible party’s insurance should pay for your personal injury medical treatments. That being said, it is a good idea to hire an experienced car accident attorney to help recover the greatest financial settlement possible from the responsible party’s insurance company.
Call us now at 1-858-551-2090 for a FREE consultation with an experienced San Diego car accident lawyer or click here to submit your case for a FREE online review. We work on a contingency basis, so there is no fee until we win your case.